June 24, 2009

To All Shareholders:

Osamu Watanabe, President Japan Petroleum Exploration Co., Ltd. (JAPEX) 1-7-12 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo

Notification of Resolutions at the 39th Ordinary General Meeting of the Shareholders

We are pleased to inform you that the following matters were reported and resolved at the 39th Ordinary General Meeting of the Shareholders held on June 24, 2009.

Announcements: 1) Business report and consolidated financial report of the 39th Term (from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009), and audit reports from the accounting auditor and Board of Corporate Auditors on the consolidated financial report

JAPEX reported the foregoing items to the shareholders present at the meeting.

2) Financial report of the 39th Term (from April 1, 2008 to March 31, 2009) JAPEX reported the foregoing items to the shareholders present at the meeting.

Resolution Items:

Item 1: Appropriation of Surplus

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. It was decided to pay the year-end dividends of 20 yen per share for the 39th Term.

Item 2: Amendments to the Articles of Incorporation

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. JAPEX shall amend its Articles of Incorporation in accordance with the introduction of Electronic Share Certificates System.

Item 3: Election of sixteen (16) Directors

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. Accordingly, sixteen (16) Directors, Yuji Tanahashi, Osamu Watanabe, Katsuo Suzuki, Norihiko Sawara, Tadatsuna Koda, Hiroshi Sato, Yoichi Ohta, Nobuzo Ichikawa, Masaki Hattori, Shoichi Ishii, Chikao Yoshida, Toshio Ibi, Mitsuru Saito, Junichi Matsumoto, Nobuyuki Ogura, and Kazuo Kawakami were reelected and assumed their offices.

Kazuo Kawakami is an Outside Director.

Item 4: Election of two (2) Corporate Auditors

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. Accordingly, two (2) Corporate Auditors, Ken Fujii and Morio Ishizeki were newly elected and assumed their offices.

Item 5: Awarding Retirement Benefits to Retiring Corporate Auditors

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. Consequently, retirement benefits shall be awarded to retiring Corporate Auditors Kiyoshi Wazumi and Tsutomu Sugiura according to the standards specified by JAPEX in recognition of services during their tenure, and the specific amount, period and method of awarding, etc. shall be entrusted to deliberation of Corporate Auditors.

Item 6: Payment of Bonuses to Directors and Corporate Auditors

This item was approved and adopted as proposed. A total amount of bonus of 78,300,000 yen (74,234,000 yen to Directors, 4,066,000 yen to Corporate Auditors) will be paid.

At the Meeting of the Board of Directors held after the 39th Ordinary General Meeting of the Shareholders was closed, Representative Directors, Directors with Titles and Executive Officers were elected and assumed offices. Consequently, Directors and Executive Officers are as follows:

Representative Director			Managing	
- Chairman		Yuji Tanahashi	Executive Officer	Kazuo Nakayama
Representative Director	Chief Executive		Managing	
- President	Officer	Osamu Watanabe	Executive Officer	Nobuaki Moritani
Representative Director			Managing	
- Executive Vice President	Executive Officer	Katsuo Suzuki	Executive Officer	Hironori Imazato
Representative Director			Managing	
- Executive Vice President	Executive Officer	Norihiko Sawara	Executive Officer	Hitoshi Yamatoya
Representative Director				
- Executive Vice President	Executive Officer	Tadatsuna Koda	Executive Officer	Makoto Miyairi
Senior Managing Director	Executive Officer	Hiroshi Sato	Executive Officer	Masami Miki
Senior Managing Director	Executive Officer	Yoichi Ohta	Executive Officer	Fumio Mizuno
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Nobuzo Ichikawa	Executive Officer	Keisuke Inoue
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Masaki Hattori	Executive Officer	Toyohiko Kanekiyo
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Shoichi Ishii	Executive Officer	Toru Kuroda
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Chikao Yoshida	Executive Officer	Kiyoshi Ogino
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Toshio Ibi	Executive Officer	Yoshio Abe
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Mitsuru Saito	Executive Officer	Yosuke Higai
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Junichi Matsumoto	Executive Officer	Hikaru Fukasawa
Managing Director	Executive Officer	Nobuyuki Ogura		
Director		Kazuo Kawakami		

With the resolution by the Board of Corporate Auditors after the 39th Ordinary General Meeting of the Shareholders was closed, full-time Corporate Auditors Ken Fujii and Morio Ishizeki were newly appointed and assumed their offices.

<Dividend Payments>

Shareholders who have requested that dividend payments be made by transfer to a bank are asked to confirm the enclosed documents to receive the dividend.

Shareholders who have not requested the bank transfer may receive their dividend payments at their nearby branch of JAPAN POST BANK Co., Ltd. and post office (banking agency) as indicated in the enclosed Receipt of Year-end Dividends. The period of receiving payments is from June 25, 2009 to July 27, 2009.